A tradition of excellence
The roots of Loudoun Country Day School can be traced back to the summer of 1952 when Mrs. J. Churchill Newcomb and Mrs. William J. McDonald called a meeting at the Purcellville Library. That discussion became the final planning for the inaugural school year at Loudoun Country Day School in 1953-1954. It looked vastly different from the institution we have today, with a mere seven students and one teacher convening in a room within the Old Community College Building on Market Street in Leesburg.
Three years later, through the generosity of Mrs. Elizabeth Rust Brown, Loudoun Country Day School had grown to a 5.4-acre property complete with a farmhouse, situated right on Fairview Street in Leesburg. This would be our home for 52 years, with hundreds of students passing through our doors and flourishing in our classrooms. Over the years, we proudly achieved accreditation through VAIS (Virginia Association of Independent Schools) and became a member of the AISGW (Association of Independent Schools of Greater Washington). In 2009, we welcomed our students into our expansive, beautiful new home on Red Cedar Drive. Today, we are one of the top independent schools in Northern Virginia because we continue to embrace students for who they are and guide their evolution into who they will become.
From our humble beginnings through years of momentous growth and change, Loudoun Country Day School has stood unwavering in its dedication to providing a superior independent school experience. We honor our history and look forward to continuing to inspire students to become lifelong learners, to think critically and creatively, and to lead with courage, compassion, and character.